Hi there, *|MERGE1|*!Unsubscribe *|EMAIL|* from this listManage subscription

Local 1000 AFM

Local 1000 August 2018 Newsletter


Dear Brothers and Sisters,

This is our regular monthly email newsletter that goes out to everyone in the first week of each month. It includes reminders, member news and important announcements from the Executive Board and the office.

News from the Executive Board


Fall Membership Meeting at NERFA

There will be one more membership meeting in 2018. Mark your calendars and plan to attend! The exact time and date will be announced soon!

Nov 8 or 9, 2018 – Northeast Regional Folk Alliance, Stamford, CT

There is a $15 discount available for Local 1000 members registering for NERFA. Please contact [email protected] for the discount code. You do not need to be registered for the conference to attend the Local 1000 membership meeting.


Aaron FowlerAugust Cyber Union Hall – Social Media and the Touring Artist

Join us August 21st for our Cyber Union call on using social media to build your base. We will discuss many of the top platforms as well as best practices. The discussion will be moderated by Local 1000 US Vice President Aaron Fowler. Please join us and share your experience!

Join from PC, Mac, Linux, iOS or Android: https://zoom.us/j/662592513

Or iPhone one-tap: US: +16699006833, 662592513#  or +16465588656, 662592513#

Or Telephone: US: +1 669 900 6833  or +1 646 558 8656

Meeting ID: 662 592 513

International numbers available here


Update to AFM-EPF Rehabilitation Plan

On June 22nd an important update from the AFM-EPF went out to our members:


Essentially the announcement is an update to the Rehabilitation Plan for the Employer Pension Fund. CBA contracts negotiated after August 1, 2018 will need to include a 10% increase to the employer pension contributions. For example if your contribution was previously $100 monthly, your new pension contribution under this updated rehabilitation plan would be $110 monthly. The Valid Pension Contribution Rates listed on the back of the LS-1 contact will also increase 10%, so if your rate was previously 10.9%, the corresponding rate will become 11.99%.

Although the information we received from the AFM said this should begin on August 1, 2018, they are anticipating a delay of up to another 3 months while they work out the legal details. They realize contracts have already been negotiated between musicians and venues at previous rates which must be honored. The revised LS-1 contract has not been made available, and this too may be delayed for several months.

Please be sure to click the link above to read the entire update. The office is in touch with the AFM-EPF regarding this issue, so please let us know if you have any questions about this.


Dues Increase

At the membership meeting on June 24, members approved a motion to increase annual dues by $5 to US$177 per year, or $46.75 per quarter. This dues increase will take effect as of October 1, 2018 and will be reflected on invoices for the third quarter of 2018 and forward. As noted in previous newsletters, the increase will help us cover our basic operating costs.


Scales Increase

At the recent membership meeting, members approved a motion to increase Local 1000 wage scales. Information about the proposed increases has been in the last few newsletters, but in the meeting members also voted to increase the scale for K-12 engagements from $200 to $220 to match the AFM’s MPTF scale for those concerts. In addition, solo concert scale has gone up $20 to $250, solo small concert scale increased from $110 to $120. Ensemble scales for small concerts went from $110 to $120 for the leader, and $50 to $60 for a side person. All other scales remain the same. The entire revised schedule of scales is available on our website here. Local 1000 scales are the MINIMUM that members must use for contracted engagements, members are always free to negotiate higher fees.

Canadian Corner


P2 Updates

The CFM is now advising Canadian members applying for P2 visas to get their application in at least 75 days before the first engagement.

If you are applying, please make sure you download the latest application, which can be found here:

English: http://www.cfmusicians.org/services/work-permits
French: http://www.cfmusicians.org/services/permis-de-travail

Please contact Canadian VP Kev Corbett or the CFM for more information.


Member News


Do you have a new album coming out? Did you recently receive an award?

If you have exciting news to share with Local 1000 members, we want to know. Submit Your News Here!

Local 1000 Members Cathy Fink & Marcy Marxer release 35th album collaboration

“Zoom a Little Zoom: A Ride Through Science”, on their Community Music label. With 10 new interpretations of tunes from Ballads for the Age of Science, a classic 1961 collection of educational science songs on such subjects as Space, Nature, Weather and Energy, and an Activity Guide featuring dozens of ideas for hands-on science fun, the album is intended to excite a new generation of scientists, engineers, and explorers.

The original songs, written by lyricist Hy Zaret and composer Lou Singer, and performed by Dorothy Collins, Tom Glazer and other artists, appeared on the 1961 “space race” era album Ballads for the Age of Science. Academy Award nominee Zaret (1907 -2007) is renowned for writing the timeless hits “Unchained Melody,” “One Meatball” and “Dedicated to You.” He also wrote dozens of socially conscious songs for his public service albums, Little Songs on Big Subjects and Little Songs About U.N.

August Birthdays


Finally, we would like to wish the following members Happy Birthday! If your birthday falls in August and you don’t see it listed below, or if the date is incorrect, please send an email to our Birthday Bunny, Deborah Van Kleef with your birthdate, current phone number and email address.

08/01 Teresa Healy

08/02 Jimmy Collier

08/03 Paul Reisler

08/03 Chris Vallillo

08/04 Alana Cline

08/05 Donna Nestler

08/06 Edie Carey

08/06 Jim Page

08/08 Jake Blount

08/08 Darryl Purpose

08/08 Ben Whiteley

08/09 Cathy Fink

08/09 Stephen Jenkinson

08/10 Jamar Jones

08/11 Eve Goldberg

08/11 Elyas Isaacs

08/12 Janet Stecher

08/13 Tom Breiding

08/14 Michael Glick

08/14 Leah Grandmont

08/14 Gary Hermus

08/14 John McCutcheon

08/14 Kalya Ramu

08/15 Debra Cowan

08/16 Rik Palieri

08/18 Liv Cazzoa

08/18 Sandy Opatow

08/18 Joel Guenther

08/21 Andy Cohen

08/22 Vincent Cross

08/22 Sheena Rattai

08/23 Grit Laskin

08/23 Ezra Idlet

08/26 Peter Blood

08/27 Michael Beauchamp

08/28 Timothy O’Reilly

08/30 Tesser Call

08/30 Miriam Davidson

08/31 John Law

In Solidarity,

AFM Local 1000

Local 1000 AFM